Dipping into Digital

I’ve always had a bit of a fascination and great respect for digital artists, mainly because although contrary to popular opinion, digital art is extremely tricky and just as time-consuming as traditional methods, it can also have the most amazing results.

So in my never ending quest for finding the perfect medium I went and bought a wacom tablet, not a big fancy one just the entry level chap, here he is!

So I had a little fart about and here’s how I got on;

Firstly I took a line drawing from one of my books, just a small sketch that had been floating about for a while.

From here I went straight in with the colouring, now granted that I’m pretty hopeless with photoshop I had a bit of a tough time and it ended up taking me around 2 hours to end up with this.

I guess it’s not bad for a first attempt but I can’t help but feel that it looks a bit too polished and a little bit lifeless.

So in my little huff I decided to go over the drawing in watercolours.

Which I think worked a bit better, that’s not to say I’ve given up on digital art, I just need to get better at it and spend a bit of time trying to used the tablet and photoshop etc so If anyone has any tips or knows of any good tutorials let me know!

nx

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Dipping into Digital”

  1. David Says:

    You need yourself some Art Rage ( http://www.artrage.com ) Neil. Fantastic fun with a tablet.

    I gave my tablet away having found that I still love to turn whatever I’m drawing on to look at from differing angles and to draw different parts, difficult to do with a monitor.

    Awaiting the day I can afford a tablet that has active and passive sensors that has the sensitivity of a Wacom.

  2. neilslorance Says:

    Thanks David I’ll give it a shot! yea i’d love to have one of the tablets with the monitors in them they look well fun! nx

  3. Melissa Arandia -justdoodle Says:

    Congrats for finally getting one! Did you color it in real watercolor or with a digital watercolor brush? I would suggest that you download free photoshop brushes in different kinds of media like watercolor, pastel, chalk, etc. Choose a brush that you’re comfortable using and that would suit your style. If you want to easily edit or recolor the elements in your drawing, separate them in layers.

    Actually what you should really do if you want to get better is just keep practicing and keep using your tablet. Once you get used to it, you’ll surely enjoy it and create artworks in lesser time :)

    • neilslorance Says:

      Ah thanks very Much Melissa :) I’ll definitely be getting some practice in and trying some more brushes thanks and hopefully one day i’ll be as good as you! nx

  4. Evelyn Says:

    Not bad?! You did great!
    In no time you’ll be used to it ;)

  5. Kuky Says:

    That’s what I was going to say. Brushes. I downloaded a pencil brush before. It was nice and really pencil like with the pressure on the wacom.

  6. neilslorance Says:

    aw, thanks Kuky,i’ll let you know how I get on :) nx

Leave a Reply

