Sketchbooks should be Sketchy

I’ve had a bit of an ‘off’ week, well in an art sense at least. I’m not quite sure what it is but recently I’ve  just not been very happy with anything I’ve been drawing.

So I had a wee think and decided that for the next while I’m going to take a step away from my usual style and spend some time on more analytical stuff i.e trying to draw things outside of my own head.

So I bought a new sketchbook which will be known as my sketchy sketchbook. I know it sounds a bit silly but I have about 7 or 8 sketchbooks on the go at the moment, all for different purposes, some are for ideas for paintings, some are visual diaries and journals and some are for finals but untill now I’ve never actually had one to practice my drawing and experiment in.

I mainly plan to just carry it about and pop something in everyday, whether it’s a man on the bus, a piece of furniture around the house or just anything that stays still. Here’s what I put in today…

My friend Alan, looking like a cartoon.

An ill-proportioned drawing of my dads head.

A nudey man (taken from photograph).

I’m hoping that if I keep it up it might improve my drawing skills somewhat and help me ‘loosen’ up a bit, something that my art teachers always nudged me towards before I packed in college.

Well that’s all for today, take care and wrap up warm!

nx

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Sketchbooks should be Sketchy”

  1. sophiestar86 Says:

    Uck it happens, I had a dry patch which ended up almost 6 months! Which then led to a total lack of confidence and I was scared to even start sketching again! So exploring different ideas and trying new techniques is a great idea! The last few months I have been working with charcoals which was out of my comfort zone and I’m loving it! Also doing a lot of the human form and portraits which again is not my usual thing. It’s really building up my confidence so I hope it works for you too!

  2. Claire Says:

    Yeyyy!! Aww thats mega neil =] I love drawing life/location, people in cafes or whatever. You might find too that when you are against time, say someone is about to move that your proportion is way better compared to when sitting studying the subject for ages. Its weird! Good luck with it though =] It’s loadsa fun.

  3. neilslorance Says:

    Thanks for the support guys, I am very super grateful :) nx

  4. k Says:

    ooh, lovely lovely pictures!

Leave a Reply

